Mark you calendars: May 4 as the new Coronation day and 19 official holidays approved

The Thai Cabinet approved May 4th as the new Coronation day which was previously celebrated on the 5th of May. His Majesty King Maha Vajiralongkorn was crowned on this day.

According to Assistant Government Spokesman Athisit Chaiyanuwat, Thailand will now have 19 official holidays, three more holidays were added to the existing 16 official holidays: July 28 (His Majesty the King’s Birthday), June 3 (Her Majesty the Queen’s Birthday), and October 13 ( King Bhumibol Adulyadej the Great Memorial Day.

19 holidays are as follows:
New Year’s Day (Jan 1)
Makha Bucha Day (full moon in February)
Chakri Memorial Day (April 6)
Songkran (April 13-15)
Coronation Day (May 4)
Royal Ploughing Ceremony Day (May, to be specified)
Visakha Bucha Day (full moon in May)
Queen’s Birthday (June 3)
Asaha Bucha Day (full moon in July)
Beginning of Lent Day (first waning moon in July)
King’s Birthday (July 28)
Queen Mother’s Birthday and National Mother’s Day (Aug 12)
King Bhumibol Memorial Day (Oct 13)
King Chulalongkorn Memorial Day (Oct 23)
King Bhumibol’s Birthday Anniversary, National Day and National Father’s Day (Dec 5)
Constitution Day (Dec 10)
New Year’s Eve (Dec 31).  

Source: Bangkok Post