Buhay OFW

Philippines bans flights from Thailand beginning July 25-31

Travelers from Malaysia and Thailand will not be allowed to enter the Philippines starting July 25 to control the transmission of the COVID-19 Delta variant.

Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases spokesperson Harry Roque announced on Friday that the two countries are now included in the country’s expanded travel ban list.

“Beginning 12:01 a.m. of July 25, 2021 until 11:59 p.m. of July 31, 2021, such travelers shall be prohibited from entering the Philippines,” Roque said in a statement.

He added that passengers already in transit from the said countries, and all those who have been there within 14 days immediately preceding arrival to the Philippines, who arrive before 12:01AM of July 25, may still be allowed to enter the country but will be required to undergo a full 14-day facility quarantine, notwithstanding a negative RT-PCR test result.

Nations already listed in the travel ban are Indonesia, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, and Oman.

PinoyThaiyo has already coordinated with Philippine Airlines (PAL) Thailand office regarding options of Filipino passengers flying from Bangkok to Manila on July 28. We will keep you posted. 

This story is developing. More details to follow.

Photo: New York Times