Smoking not allowed inside six airports in Thailand

Smoking will not be allowed inside the passenger buildings at all six airports operated by Airports of Thailand Plc (AoT) from 3 February 2019, said Public Relations Department.

Six Thai airports, Bangkok’s Suvarnabhumi and Don Mueang, Phuket, Chiang Mai, Hat Yai and Mae Fah Luang Chiang Rai, all operated and managed by the Airports of Thailand (AOT), were declared no smoking zones from 3 February 2019 with all smoking rooms inside the terminals were closed since then.

According to AOT, the move to close all smoking rooms is in line with the 2017 Tobacco Control Act.

A violator is liable to a fine of up to 5,000 baht.

Source: Thai PR