Alan Peter Cayetano is the new House Speaker

Former senator and now Taguig representative Alan Peter Cayetano has been elected Speaker of the House of Representatives. 

Cayetano had run for vice president in 2016 but lost to Leni Robredo. He also served as secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA).

Cayetano will serve as speaker for 15 months under a power-sharing agreement that President Rody Duterte brokered. Marinduque Rep. Lord Allan Velasco will serve the remaining 21 months of the 18th Congress.

The President’s eldest son, Davao City 1st District Rep. Paolo Duterte, nominated Cayetano.