philippine karateras

Philippine karate team wins big in Thailand Karate Open

The Philippine karatekas ranked fifth among 20 other countries in the recently concluded Thailand Open Karate-Do Championships held at the Huamark Indoor Stadium in Bangkok on July 26-30.

Composed of young athletes, the 50-member delegation won a total of 4 gold, 8 silver, and 12 bronze medals. They competed against 600 athletes from different countries.

They were composed of karatekas from the Philippine Karate-do Team (Typhoons), KDA, Wado-ryu Club, Japan Shotokan Karate Association, Ryo Shotokan Karate Club, Philippine Karatedo Traditional and Sports Association, Maharlika Karate-do Kai of the Philippines International, and the Advocacy for the Strengthening of Karatedo.

Here is the list of winners reported by online media Rappler:


  • Chloe Bernadette Limson
  • Lance Gabriel Villafane
  • Jaspher Fontillas
  • Mae Soriano


  • Chloe Bernadette Limson
  • Marvin Pinpin
  • Jaime Villegas
  • Czarina Napa
  • Mark Andrei Barrientos
  • Randy Padua
  • Narayana Mesina
  • OJ delos Santos


  • John Enrico Vasquez
  • Ivanna Cablao
  • Timothy Yu
  • Lopez River
  • Gian Valencia
  • Chris Kawaen
  • Joco Vasquez
  • Gilbert Arellano
  • Angeligue Aguilar
  • Alexis Nunez
  • Rita Cuadra
  • Joanna Ylanan